Sony World Photography Awards 2021

This year’s National Awards winners are:
Argentina – Dante Mogni
Austria – Michaela Steiner
Bangladesh – Sabbir Hossen
Bulgaria – Eniz Karadzha
Cambodia – Sean Channal
Chile – Ramón Rodriguez
Croatia – Tomislav Veic
Czech Republic – Zdeněk Vošický
Denmark – Sussi Charlotte Alminde
Estonia – Höije Nuuter
Egypt – Abdelhamid Fawzy Tahoun
Finland – Matti Virtanen
France – Lauriane Bieber
Germany – Astrid Susanna Schulz
Greece – Thoedoros Apeiranthitis
Hungary – Krisztina Kovács
Iceland – Viktor Einar Vilhelmsson
Italy – Davide Giannetti
India – Shreejit Borthakur
Indonesia – Hardijanto Budyman
Japan – Yukihito Ono, Winner
Japan – Hiroki Nose, 2nd Place
Japan – S. Muramatsu, 3rd Place
Kuwait – Naser Alomari
Latvia – Janis Palulis
Lithuania – Simas Bernotas
Malaysia – Yoganathan Yoke
Mexico – Brian Mena Laureano
Myanmar – Min Min Zaw
Nepal – Prajwal Battarai
New Zealand – Murray Chant
Norway – Emil Wieringa Hildebrand
Philippines – Donell Gumiran
Poland – Kamila J. Gruss
Qatar – Ila Al-Mushaifri
Romania – Cristina Venedict
Russian Federation – Evgeniy Ivanov
Saudi Arabia – Naif Albugami
Serbia – Vladimir Zivojinovic
Singapore – Wong Chek Poh
Slovenia – Aljaž Žnidaršič
South Africa – Azelda Olivier
Sri Lanka- Isira Sooriyaarachchi
Sweden – Shai Apeloig
Switzerland – Raphael Barbar
Taiwan – Hui Pin Lai, Winner
Taiwan – Chia Jung Chou, 2nd Place
Taiwan – Yu Liang Chueh, 3rd Place
Thailand – Saowanee Suntararak
Turkey – Mehmet Aslan, Winner
United Arab Emirates – Mireia Vilaplana
United States – Patrick Mueller
Vietnam – Tuan Nguyen Quang

Produced by the World Photography Organisation, the internationally acclaimed Sony World Photography Awards is one of the most important fixtures in the global photographic calendar. Now in its 14th year, the free-to-enter Awards are a global voice for photography and provide a vital insight into contemporary photography today. For both established and emerging artists, the Awards offer world-class opportunities for exposure of their work. The Awards additionally recognise the world’s most influential artists working in the medium through the Outstanding Contribution to Photography Awards; previous recipients include Martin Parr, William Eggleston, Mary Ellen Mark, Candida Hofer and Nadav Kander.
The Sony World Photography Awards 2021 competitions include:
• Professional competition – Judged anonymously on a body of work. 10 categories to enter, including a newly introduced ‘Environment’ category.
• Open competition – Judged anonymously on a single image. 10 categories to enter.
• Youth competition – Judged anonymously on a single image responding to monthly themes, for photographers aged 12-19.
• Student competition – For academic institutions, a body of work responding to one brief on the theme of ‘Invisible Lines’. Shortlisted photographers then submit a series of images responding to a second brief.
• National Awards – All images entered into the Open competition are automatically considered for the National & Regional Awards programme which celebrates local photographic talent in more than 50 countries and is judged anonymously upon a single image.